Project Argo in Pacific Region

Argo is a global array of almost 4000 free-drifting profiling floats that measures the temperature and salinity of the upper 2000 meters of the ocean. This allows continuous monitoring of the temperature, salinity, and velocity of the upper ocean, with all data being relayed and made publicly available within hours after collection.

Argo Maps and Tools

Argo Float Trajectory Movies

Last update: 2th Nov. 2016

For the following movies of float motion in the oceans, the dot indicates the "current" location of the float as given by the date counter, and the tail is a previous history, typically 80 or 100 days.

Argo in the Gulf of Alaska

This project should be viewed as collaborative with two other projects, Jason and Godae. Jason is the follow-on mission to Topex-Poseidon and should supply sea-surface elevation globally. Thus, the combination of Jason plus Argo supplies maps every 10 days of the internal dynamics of the ocean, globally. The project GODAE is the Global Ocean Data Assimilation Experiment and the intention is to develop computer models that will assimilate the complete Argo and Jason data sets and allow a test of our ability to forecast ocean climate.

Date modified:

Projet Argo dans le Pacifique

Argo est une entreprise internationale qui vise à déployer presque 4000 profileurs Alace dans l'ensemble des océans. Les détails sont encore à discuter mais la profondeur de ces profileurs pourrait être de 2000 mètres et ils remonteront à la surface de la mer tous les 10 jours.

Argo Cartes et outils

Films du trajectoires des profileurs

Argo dernière mise à jour le 2 nov 2016

Pour les films suivants du mouvement des profileurs dans l'océan, le point représente la position du flotteur à la date indiquée par le compteur de date, et la queue représente ses positions antérieures.

Argo dans le golfe de l'Alaska

Ce programme devrait être perçu comme une collaboration avec deux autres projets, le projet Jason et le projet GODAE. Jason, comme son prédécesseur Topex-Poseidon, fourniront des données d'élévation de la surface de la mer à l'échelle mondiale. Alors, Jason et Argo fourniront des cartes de la dynamique interne de l'océan à l'échelle mondiale tous les 10 jours. Le projet GODAE (Expérience mondiale d'assimilation des données océaniques) développera des modèles pour assimiler toutes les bases de données Argo et Jason, ce qui nous permettrera d'analyser notre capacité de prévision du climat océanique.

Date de modification :